To sleep: perchance to dream: ay, there’s the rub;

To sleep perchance to dream

I often come up with story ideas in my sleep. The dreams I have are often my imagination sifting through an idea, looking for the good stuff. I wake and scribble with frantic urgency to ensure I record the story. Of course, as ¬†Fibromyalgia sufferer, sleep does not come easily. However, when I do sleep, I rarely go into deep, restorative sleep. That’s bad for me, but great for my writing, because it means I always dream when I sleep. I once wrote an entire song in a dream and rushed for my laptop to write it all down when I woke. Since then, I’ve had a pad and pen in my nightstand. Last night, I wrote some children’s books in my dreams and am now looking at writing them in my waking life.

Inspiration comes in many forms, though. For example, I wrote my Anything Goes story after seeing the first Crane fly of the season last autumn. My novel, Paper Dragons and Shadow Demons, came to me when reminiscing with my dad about how he would only decorate a house when we were preparing to move out from it. I love the fertility of an imaginative mind.

Where does your inspiration come from?

Leave a Reply

