Writing prompt – The land grew colder

The land grew colder and I knew it was time. I had to get this damned grave dug before the freeze. He was still causing me pain even after his death! I wrestled with my thoughts.

I HATE HIM! Maybe I should just leave him out here for the birds and the foxes? Nah, he’d only poison them. I better bury him. Damn it! Procrastination is not my friend.

“What happened?” his voice broke my internal tirade. “Help me.”

‘DAMN IT! How the hell is he still alive?

“I thought you were dead!” I said. I used my shovel to finish the job before digging the hole to dump him in.

Leave a Reply

